Things Add Up


It can be a challenge to find the time to do the things we love. It’s very easy to let the days slip by and before you know it a week or month has passed. My time for creativity sometimes comes in small 15 minute bursts as I pull my car to the side of the road and snap a few photos of something that I find interesting. Occasionally I will catch a glimpse of something that might be worth shooting and I will decide to keep driving. I almost always regret that decision.

Yesterday I stopped by a small little landscaped corner where a business has installed a little cactus garden with a gravel path and some benches. It is too small to call a park, really, but the morning light on the plants is something I notice every day as I drive by.

It sits right before the freeway on-ramp and so the temptation is to just get on with it and hightail it on to the freeway. This time I pulled over, spent 15 minutes of quality time with my 5D and took about 20 shots.

Don’t let the small opportunities slip by. Instead, take the little moments you can and allow them to add a little joy to your day. Over time those moments will accumulate into a breadth of experience that is far greater than the sum of the parts.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

